St. Bernard Parish Chamber of Commerce and Government Chalmette


St. Bernard Parish is governed by a Parish President (executive branch) and a Council (legislative branch).  The Parish President serves a four year term and after serving more than 1 ½ terms (6 years), he shall not qualify for the office of President again.  The Parish Council consists of seven councilmen who each serve four year terms.  Of the seven councilmen, five serve as district councilmen and are elected by district, and two serve as at-large councilmen (one a resident of east and one a resident of west St. Bernard) and are elected by a parish-wide vote.


St. Bernard Parish President, Guy McInnis

Councilman at Large West, Richard J. Lewis

Councilman at Large East, Kerri Callais

Councilman District A, Gillis McCloskey

Councilman District B, Nathan Gorbaty

Councilman District C, Howard Luna

Councilman District D, Wanda Alcon

Councilman District E, Manuel “Monty” Montelongo